WIDA English Language Development (ELD) Standards

Title I [1111(b)(1)] and Title III [3111(b)(2)(C)(ii) of the ESEA and Indiana's ESEA flexibility extension require Indiana to adopt college and career ready English language development standards and assessments so that English learners may attain English proficiency, develop high levels of academic attainment in English, and meet the same challenging Indiana academic content and achievement standards as all children are expected to meet.

Indiana adopted the WIDA ELD standards in December 2013. The 5 WIDA standards and framework consist of 5 components:

1) Can Do Philosophy

2) Guiding Principles of Language Development

3) Age Appropriate Academic Language in Socio-Cultural Contexts

4) Performance Definitions

5) Strands of Model Performance Indicators

The WIDA ELD standards differ from Indiana's previous ELP standards because students need to engage with peers, educators, and the curriculum in ALL classrooms. WIDA offers 5 standards, which are utilized by all educators with English learners in their classrooms:

1) Social and instructional language

2) Language of language arts

3) Language of mathematics

4) Language of science

5) Language of social studies

More information regarding the WIDA ELD Standards Framework can be found at http://www.doe.in.gov/elme/wida-english-language-development-eld-standards-framework and www.wida.us.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.